SAMUEL COLEMAN

Office manager, Alvin Ailey Dance Foundation, New York

Interview by Arianne Cohen

PHOTOGRAPH BY FRANCESCO NAZARDO FOR BLOOMBERG BUSINESSWEEK

How’d you get your job?

Twenty years ago, I auditioned for the Ailey School, which trains professionals for the industry. After I graduated, I kept my contacts.

Do you like office managing?

Like other artists, I work whatever jobs I can to support myself. A position opened up, and I’ve been here ever since. Fifteen years.

Do you still dance?

Yes, and teach. I’m really into authentic jazz and Lindy Hop [swing], and I take classes here — ballet, modern dance, Zumba. I’m a really big fan of Zumba. You can actually take those moves to the dance floor.

What’s your signature style?

Sweater vests — 99 percent of the time, year-round, I’m wearing one. A sweater vest can really add a lot to a man’s wardrobe.

What’s your office dress strategy?

Classic. I wear a suit every day, even when I’m not coming in.

Favorite accessories?

The ties are out of control. I tell myself that I do not need any more, and then I buy them. Oh, gosh, I own a couple hundred. They’re in drawers and hanging on hangers, on hooks.

How does taking off a whole suit for dance class work?

Practice. And folding it very nicely. Once you get over the hump, it’s easy.

You look more like a businessman than a dancer.

I’m inspired by the Harlem Renaissance. This country had an elegant way of dressing that seems to have been lost. And when I go out and do swing, I’m actually dancing in my regular clothes. People occasionally ask, “Aren’t you hot?” But this is nothing different than what our parents and grandparents did.

Welcome!

Magazines Review offers you a broad range of popular American magazines online. Browse an extensive directory of magazines, covering most important aspects of your life. Find the most recent issues of your favourite magazine, or check out the oldest ones.

About content