A factory closes

Interviews by Elizabeth Dwoskin

PHOTOGRAPH Annie Collinge for Bloomberg Businessweek

On Jan. 4, 2009, Leviton closed its light switch factory in rural Ashe County, N.C., moving some of its production to Mexico. Four years later, many of the plant’s 211 employees have found work, some after long stretches of unemployment. Dozens went back to community college to learn new skills, helped by Trade Adjustment Assistance, a federal program that pays to retrain workers whose jobs are shipped overseas. Most are earning less money.

GARY GRAYBEAL, 51

New job: Quality engineer, American Emergency Vehicles

“Real estate was so bad you couldn’t sell your house. You could take a job in Texas, and you could lose that job too. Everything’s a gamble.”

GLENDA LUTHER, 38

New job: Volunteer coordinator, Ashe County Senior Center

“You always think in the back of your mind, which factory is going next? Learning a new field, learning a new trade, and having education to back it up make me feel very fortunate.”

SHIRLEY MILLER, 54

New job: Financial services representative, State Employees’ Credit Union

“To walk out of a place you’ve been for 28 years, there was a lot of sadness. I was concerned because of my age and because of my lack of education. Here I was, 50, not old enough to draw retirement, not old enough to draw Social Security, no health insurance.”

TERESA WILES, 57

New job: Assistant manager, Roses department store

“At Leviton, I was making $12 an hour, plus overtime. Now I’m making $8.50 an hour as assistant manager. I’d go back in a heartbeat.”

JAMIE LEWIS, 35

New job: Machinist, GE Aviation

“I had just had a kid. I stayed at home with my infant daughter. Pretty much did Mr. Mom stuff. That’s one of the small perks I got from losing my job. But I am in more credit-card debt. I have no savings, because I spent it all on health care. There are some scars there.”

BRETT LEWIS, 35

New job: Machinist, GE Aviation